Here we go 2015 resolutions

Here we go 2015 resolutions

I know a lot of people have given up on the notion of New Years resolutions especially the bland ones like eat more healthy, got to the gym e.t.c e.t.c. But I still find them fascinating, if only that they make you pause and access where you are and where you want to be.

I was reading my resolutions/ goals from 2014. There were roughly ten, and out of them I had only done two. Graduate and work for people I admire and can learn from. I definitely hadn’t exercised at least twice a week unless you count thinking about it. But instead of seeing this as a negative, I found it interesting because it reminded me that life isn’t a smooth line where you can map out everything. Its a series of choices. So maybe it’s about having an idea of what you want and taking the opportunities that align to it.

For example I knew I didn’t want another job like the ones I had done most of my summers while studying. Where I didn’t find the work stimulating or feel like I had a purpose. This in turn helped me when it came to seeking and going for opportunities that were interesting. And when I attended the Clean Concience Dirty Hands symposium at the GSA, it opened my eyes to see that design could make positive social and economic differences and perhaps I could make a career in this area. I’m still very much finding my path but it was comforting to see I had stayed somewhat in line with my resolutions for 2014.

So for 2015 I have set myself an overarching attitude and mantra for the year. To keep hope and keep smiling. And if I notice myself complaining about something too many times, to either do something about it or stop complaining! Of course I still have my resolutions/ goals, among them to get my driving licence and the obligatory try to excercise (one year i will do this).

I’m excited for 2015, it is looking to be a good one.

Happy 2015 everyone 😊

Leave a Reply

