5 things I wish someone had told me before I graduated

5 things I wish someone had told me before I graduated

Inspired by Stephanie Rice’s Medium post 10 things I wish someone had told me about freelancing. I’m writing the 5 things I wish someone had told me before I graduated last year (you actually graduate in Architecture 3 times in Britain and this was my second and was scary).

alt= board game
1. Don’t panic- you don’t need the best grades or the best portfolio to get the job/ career you want. This feels incredibly important but if you can realise it, then it takes a whole load of pressure off final year. Having now been on the other side, going through volunteer applications, I’m realising the two important things are passion and personality. Then portfolio.

2. You don’t have to know what you want to do with the rest of your life (and it doesn’t have to be just one thing). I remember feeling that I was making a massive life decision when I was deciding what to do after graduation. It’s great if you know what you want to do but be flexible and open, you might end up doing something you would never imagined.

3. Getting a job isn’t the only option. I remember everyone asking so what are you going to do next? It’s a horrible question you feel like you need to know exactly how things will pan out, but it’s alright to say I don’t know. There’s working in an office/ studio, freelancing, setting up your own business. I’ve ended up doing all three which is tough but fun. Also take the summer off, if you can. Properly off, not even job hunting, I wish I’d done that now.

4. It’s alright to say no to a job. This can seem crazy when you can see your bank balance is nearing zero to say no to any type of offer but sometimes it’s definitely worth waiting.


5. Life is not a straight line,
it’s a series of choices. I’m only slowly starting to realise this. It’s so much about what you do, when you do it and as what you don’t do. So decide carefully but don’t wait too long.

Image via… 
Leave a Reply

