Odetta’s Song

Odetta’s Song

The gospel according to Matthew, 1964 is just a beautiful film. I love this part of the film,the three wise men visiting Mary and baby Jesus accompanied by the negro spiritual ‘Sometimes I feel like a motherless child’ sung by Odetta.

As always I read the wikipedia entry to get the background of the film. I was fascinated to learn that the film which was hailed by the Vatican as the best film on Christ ever made was made by Pier Paolo Pasolini a strong critic of Christianity.

“Given Pasolini’s well-known reputation as an atheist, a homosexual, and a Marxist, the reverential nature of his film could come as a surprise at a first approach, especially after the controversy of La ricotta. At a press conference in 1966, Pasolini was asked why he, an unbeliever, had made a film which dealt with religious themes; his response was, “If you know that I am an unbeliever, then you know me better than I do myself. I may be an unbeliever, but I am an unbeliever who has a nostalgia for a belief.” Therefore he sets his criticism against a backdrop of sheer religious concern, for the role assumed by the Church, the organization, for centuries.” taken from wikipeadia

Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

