Don’t ask where I’m from, ask where I’m a local

Don’t ask where I’m from, ask where I’m a local

This talk really made me think. It’s a much a better question than where are you from?

I’m always fascinated by the young people I do workshops with, quite a few are from different ethnic groups, they love asking me where are you from? And when I ask back they always say “I’m from Glasgow but my parents are from…”

The question “where are you from?” often gives us a preformed picture of the person. However, identity is a fluid thing. It’s often more influenced by the cultures we are familiar with than place. Even individual places within a country have very differing identities. So asking “where are you local?” gives us a better picture of who the person is and what their cultural references are.

Where am I a local? I’m local to Glasgow, via London growing up, birthplace in Nigeria and brief stint in Vienna :).

 

Leave a Reply

