Simple productivity learnings

Simple productivity learnings

  1. Work in series not parallel “We underestimate what we can do in a year and overestimate what we can do in a day” Tim Ferriss. I’m notorious for this always taking on more than I can do. Saying yes to too many projects and Start by moving things forward a bit at a time, don’t expect to finish in a day but an hour here and there can really build up. 
  2. How could this be easy? Making it easy and in smaller was how I finally started to crack my habits, 5 mins of Yoga I can do that, an hour, now that’s too much! Start simple cause it’ll only get more complicated. Schedule it in is another great one, if it’s in your calendar your more likely to do it. 
  3. Reflect and forward plan. Top tip from my Dad this year was to have a long term goal (one at a time). He gets up super early (army training) to spend time reflecting on the goal and coming up with ideas to get there.  I’m not that good but I’ve been doing it on sunday eve as I plan the week ahead. It really helps.
  4. Hell yeah then no principle. I’ve learned this from one of the women I work with and recently heard it again in a Derek Sivers interview. If it’s not hell yeah then say no. Time is the most valuable thing we have and if I we can learn to say no more often we’ll have more time to do the things we really love. 
Leave a Reply

