Racism is a business, Akala

Racism is a business, Akala

Thought provoking words from Akala on everyday racism.

“Everyday racism is the normalised experiences we encounter daily based on our difference from the white norm…..

Fighting prejudice both within our society and within ourselves.”

 

If this affects us so much as adults it’s even sadder when we see the effects of everyday racism on young children, as this experiment the “doll test” shows.

I have seen both of these on facebook in recent days.They really made me think about how subconscious and normalised everyday racism is. We all live the idea of the white experience as the norm.

Like in Akala’s example, I myself have to consciously fight the stereotypes even though I am black and I know they are wrong.

I tested my automatic instincts in a few months ago with the brilliant Harvard research project, Project Implicit. I wasn’t surprised to find that I like a lot of respondents, I had an automatic preference for white people compared to black people.

…. But it did make me think deeply my automatic reactions and question more the messages I consume. I’ve have to make a decision to move away from the “Single Story” as Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie says. To make sure I read, listen and watch stories from a range of people.

 

Leave a Reply

